PEER REVIEW 2 – FEEDBACK ON ESSENTIAL EXPERIENCE

23/10/20

Peer review with Flora and Daniella –

IDEA SUGGESTIONS FROM GROUP DISCUSSION:

-Series of mini-games: One of the suggestions was to incorporate mini-games as a way of getting players to experience multiple different scenarios of anxiety inducing situations. I like this idea because of the variation it could potentially provide, however I am conscious of a limitation drawback as I’m not sure how many mini-games my idea can support. Ultimately, I just have to do more research before coming to a final conclusion.

-Gamification: Another idea included taking real-life situations and creating a game within them. This would allow players to feel what it is like to have anxiety from a less conscious/aware perspective. I think this would allow me to reach a wider audience, however after thinking about it I believe the experience will be more fulfilled if the players were fully aware of everything.

-Could include an enemy to resemble/take on the form of anxiety: This suggestion encourages a psychological horror genre/theme which would amplify the ‘fear factor’. They highlighted this as clear area of the lens of projection as I am heavily focussing on emotions and senses. I wanted to explore this more in detail because I think it adds the exciting element that I feel my idea currently lacks.

-Anxiety could be a presence surrounding player instead of an actual character: Similarly to the previous comment, this also points towards a psychological horror feel. It is interesting to think of creating an atmosphere which omits impending doom and injects fear through the player simply by forcing them in uncomfortable settings. I like the idea of environmental focus, but I think that having a ‘presence’ would produce a supernatural mood which is not my aim.

-Reveal a twist: Dramatic change –> sudden realisation that player wasn’t truly in danger all along. For example through the manipulation of space: i.e. in the dark a corridor looks dark and scary, however once the light switch is turned on it becomes short. This could be a basis of a mini game which was covered in the first point.

EXTRA POINTS:

-Be cautious of designing a game that is too linear –> could lose effect

-Supportive of VR platform –> immersive and real feel

CONCLUSIONS FROM FEEDBACK:

I have taken into consideration all the feedback that this peer review has helpfully provided. The main points that I will continue further include; environmental focus and mini-games.

Leave a comment